2021 - 2022 Student Awardees

Join us in congratulating our 2021-2022 Chemistry Student Award winners. Chemistry faculty select each award recipient. It is always a difficult choice due to the strong competition. The College of Science and Mathematics held its awards ceremony on April 21 in the Bailey Science Center auditorium and broadcast on Facebook so that family and friends could participate.
Pictured, from left to right: Thomas J. Falkenhausen, Jason R. Phillips, Grant T. McReady, Kurt Winkelmann, Kahleel E. Guerrier, Estefani Quinones, Hope E. Smith.
We are grateful to the families of Julia Wisenbaker Sumerford and Dr. M. Elizabeth Derrick for their financial support of our students. Thanks to the generosity of these and other VSU Chemistry donors,

Winners of this year's chemistry discipline awards demonstrate excellence in specific courses and fields of research. The winners are:

Physical Chemistry Award Thomas J. Falkenhausen

Analytical Chemistry Award Yeong Hun Jeong

Biochemistry Award Kahleel E. Guerrier

Inorganic Chemistry Award Jason R. Phillips

Organic Chemistry Award Estefani Quinones

Thomas J. Falkenhausen (Physical Chemistry Award) is starting his PhD this fall at Emory University, with the ultimate goal of becoming a professor at a major research